Home

Another wonderful and wet day in Washington.

We started the morning with a 6am trip to Rialto Beach – that concludes our trifecta of rained out beach visits.  In fact, we didn’t even get out of the car.  We were all disappointed, but decided to solider on and head back to the Hoh.  The good news about shooting in the rain forest is that its canopy provides some shelter.  Which makes capturing images at least an option.  The beach, on the other hand, provides a variety of elements that cause issue.  Wind, rain, sand and cool temperatures can reek-havoc on you and your gear.  Taking a shower with my tripod was not one of the experiences I anticipated on this journey, but it was necessary after our Second Beach visit. Sand and salt water were the enemy of Day 3.

There is a great group of folks on this trip and are having a lot of fun in-spite the weather.  Don, RMSP Instructor, is doing a wonderful job.  We are all learning so much and appreciate his approach to teaching.  The amount of equipment in this class is pretty impressive.  My Sony A350 has been lapped a few times by technology.  I shot a few of the other cameras/lenses in the group – well let me just say I probably should not have done that.  You don’t know what you don’t know, until you know. I am shooting with a Sony 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 as my primary lens and Sony 50mm f/2.8 as my Macro lens.  Its working just fine.  Although, there are times where I do feel limited.

After leaving the Hoh, checking out of our lodging we were to meet in Port Angeles early evening for our next shoot at Hurricane Ridge.  Miller Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast was good to send me on my way with a delightful plate of stuffed french toast, bacon and a glass of milk.  Perfect hospitality after a morning like ours.  I enquired about the Elwha River and how to get there.  I figured sometime in the next day or two we will get a few hours of free time to explore the first dam removal in the US since its inception in 1913, during the Roosevelt administration. I could go on and on, but you can learn more at American Rivers site. Bill and Susan were good to give me directions, instructions and a map to help me along the way.

I stopped at several places along Hwy 101 between Forks and Port Angeles.  Capturing a few photos to add to my collection. Hurricane Ridge was absolutely amazing.  We plan to go back and do a morning shoot as well.

Olympic - 3 SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

2 thoughts on “Olympic National Park – Day 3

Leave a Reply

